Gov. McMaster Endorsed by Medal of Honor Recipient, Veterans Coalition

November 2, 2022

COLUMBIA, S.C. — The McMaster-Evette campaign today was endorsed by a coalition of military veterans led by Medal of Honor Recipient Major General James E. Livingston and former Adjutant General and Major General Robert E. Livingston, Jr. 

Governor McMaster has been a fierce supporter of our veterans. The governor established the Department of Veterans’ Affairs to ensure our veterans have the best care possible. The governor also eliminated taxes on military retirement pay and was the first governor in the country to guarantee U.S. Army members up to five interviews at state agencies. 

“We could not be more grateful for the service, and sacrifice, of our veterans and their families – and we never miss an opportunity to thank them – but words are not enough,” said Governor McMaster. “That is why we took action. While we cannot ever repay the debt of gratitude we owe our veterans, we can show them how much we treasure them. From establishing the Department of Veterans Affairs to eliminating military retirement income tax, our administration has and will continue to work tirelessly to ensure that South Carolina is the best place in the country for our veterans to live, work, and raise their families. There is no more patriotic state, and no better place for veterans to call home, than South Carolina.”

Major General James E. Livingston received the Medal of Honor for his actions during the Vietnam War on May 2, 1968. According to the official citation, “Although wounded, he refused medical treatment and courageously led his men in the destruction of over 100 mutually supporting bunkers, driving the remaining enemy from their positions, and relieving the pressure on the stranded Marine company.”

“Governor McMaster has put our service members and veterans first time and time again,” said Maj. Gen. James E. Livingston. “His dedication and commitment to our military are second to none, and under his leadership, the quality of life for our veterans will only continue to improve.” 

Other members of the coalition include: 

Major General Bob Livingston
Al Guest
Ben Kinlaw
Bob Barnwell
Bob McCurry
Butch Kirven
Clinton Bittick
Dale Ellenburg
Dan Glick
David Neff
Debbie Gibson
Don Bowne
Don Jenkins
Don Odom
Dustin Savitsky

Major General James Livingston
Jack Narvel
Jason Freer
Jean Hoag
Jeff Pino
Jennifer Ross
Jim Gromley
Jim Philips
John Jeffries
Justin White
Kevin Thomas
Krishonda Torres
Larry Simmons
Matthew Muth
Michael Burch
Mitch TwiningPhillip PalmerRobert Elrod
Ron Plunkett
Sam Beck
Tim Glover
Woodrow Norris

Join The Team

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.